The Beginning of a Journey

Today, Monday January 6, 2014, makes the beginning of a journey. Today I start training for my first 70.3 triathlon. For those that don’t know a 70.3 triathlon consists of a 1.2 mile swim, a 56 mile bike ride and a 13.1 mile run. These are all done back to back in the same day. I know what you are thinking and no I am not crazy and I haven’t lost my mind, ok maybe a little bit. I am really looking forward to this journey as this training is and the race itself is guaranteed to push my farther than I have ever gone before. This will most certainly be the most physically and possibly mentally demanding thing I have ever attempted in my life.
So what has possessed me to even consider attempting this? It’s really simple, I want to prove to myself that I can do it. That and in my first year of doing triathlon I have fallen in love with the sport so why not try a half iron distance race right? Sure.

Today’s training is starting off almost to easy. On tap for today is a 9 mile bike ride with my heart rate in zone 1-2 so it’s going to be a slow easy ride. It’s touted as an “endurance” workout but at this point I think really endurance? I did a century bike ride last year how can 9 miles be endurance, but I have committed to this plan to guide me to successful completion of this race so I will do what it says. I am sure at some point in my training I will look back and wish I was still doing those “easy” workouts.

As today marks the beginning of my training I also plan that it will mark the beginning of regular posts by me on this blog. As of now I am thinking at least once a week but other than that I have no specific plan.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

